Jumia Kenya is a place for buyers to find their desires, that we all know. Having a wide selection of things, of course. One is interested to browse more, see what’s there for buying. It’s what made me look here when I was looking for some office equipment one day in October.

Unfortunately, I try to remember the exact date, but it all started sometime in October 27th, 2014. Ordering for a three in one Samsung Printer I had identified on their website. On checking out, they promised delivery within three to seven business days. Of course, I was happy that this business transaction is cooked, so I waited. After the fifth day, I got a little impatient as Nairobi and Nakuru aren’t that too far places for that delivery. It’s an electronic and electronics can take longer to deliver, I thought.

It felt a little tiring to wait so I begun calling them feeling a little impatient. The first time it was very helpful service I got,  finishing on a very friendly note. As they said to wait for the seventh day or I will get a message to know when I would receive my package and such details.  The sixth day, I was unavailable as I had a meeting to attend to. I called back, was told to call again. No one contacted me until I called them back. Ending with the seventh day proving to be a little hilariously boring and feelings of total despair.

I realised these pros about Jumia:

Very well stocked.  Meaning of well stocked here, electronically. Fast electronics, competitive pricing. Look at their Iphone 6 price, at the printer I ordered for and their laptop pricing. I say this because comparing prices of the same in shops in Nakuru or even Nairobi, and you will fall back to Jumia. Even Safaricom’s Iphone six is quite pricey at ninety thousand shillings. Take a look around.

Easy to navigate.  It’s not a complicated site to manoeuvre, as such,  a website dummy like me easily gets around to it. Their check out is quite straight forward. No need to be worried about their payment methods, they do have: visa, mastercard, american express and M-pesa door payment. Of course, I haven’t tried these, will research then get back to you.

Good support.  Their support team was very helpful at first until I became an irate  customer. The lady I got blamed me for not picking up my call. I told her I was in a meeting and I got back to them asap. She repeated that but answered none of my questions at the time. So, I felt really bad. You may wonder why I am saying they have a good customer support then? Because, they were very helpful at first.

There were things which made me have hard feelings for this online marketplace.

Poor customer service.  Of course, when I at first called to ask when the printer would be delivered I received high class attention. ”Don’t you worry, you will get an sms”. That was in November. Those who called to talk to me kept asking, what did you buy. Yet, they already had the complaint at hand. They transferred me from agent to agent until I felt like bursting. And sometimes, they would remain quiet as if talking or answering my concerns was a mistake. Or, I was another whining customer.

Too slow. On calling them, my calls went off or were redirected to voicemail.  I don’t know why but that’s when I became really sceptical and thought, another scam. I took comfort in knowing where their offices are, so I wasn’t worried as I would storm them. On scouring the internet for their reviews, I found they were very slow, others said they were very first deliveries within Nairobi; mixed reviews. My mistake, I hadn’t read their reviews as the printer was needed in a rush!

Blame game.  Let’s say you called me at eleven, mostly, I am busy working or teaching so I am not at liberty to pick calls. I say I am in a meeting, you call I don’t answer. Two hours later, I call back. Isn’t it showing responsibility on my part? That, is what screwed me up, I was told. Not receiving their call.  And calling them back, ”I should have received the call, then, I would have been told what was up”. ”Can we change the order?”. ”Why?”. ”Apparently, the one you asked for is out of order, stock, we will change it with a Hp”. ”Why wait until the last minute to ask?”.  ”Because, yesterday when we called, you refused to pick up”. ”I called you back. Okay, just change for me”. Yes, I was blamed all over and over.

Last minute, Out of Stock Answers. This is what carried the day for me. Until the second last day was I told the Samsung Printer three in one was unavailable. Until the last minute, ladies and gentlemen. They must have known this for very long. Hadn’t I triggered a question, I doubt I would have received the item. That really pissed me. And even so, the Hp was never found so I was told, ”sorry we are very sorry, it too couldn’t be found, we will refund your money.”. I felt too annoyed to speak. Had I written a review on that day, it would have been biased. There are always two sides of the coin. Even here, there are, so we wouldn’t want to say a service was entirely bad or very good or excellent.

My two cents:

I am excited there are places we can proudly call ebay Kenya in Kenya. Where we can shop as we sit for those who love to look around before we buy. And for those who are sceptical, I applaud you. Sometimes, we take risks adding to our stresses, sometimes, we want to look around and see what life has to offer on the other side; online.

Take time, read reviews before purchasing. Sometimes, we learn better by trying. I wouldn’t say to avoid Jumia or shop there exclusively. They lack on a number of items, may be, due to the fact that they don’t have merchants selling different items like ebay. We should see more Kenyans embracing online shops lately and especially in 2015. Look for example, electronics and women clothings. Though, I wouldn’t buy those on Jumia as I find them a little too exorbitant, they are variety and to some cheap. People are turning to shops online no wonder there emergence.  They save time, the only headache comes with the waiting after buying and slow customer service.

Impatient people like me want to buy something and use it immediately. Sometimes, we just have to wait. Online marketplaces should expand to sell school uniforms, books like those from British Curriculum and others for those whose children don’t do 8 4 4 system. As I said yesterday here, we should embrace diversity if we really want to be the ebay of Kenya.

Educate your customer service to know the items on sale, even those displayed on website whether they are available or not. They may be out of stock but the website manager doesn’t update the customer service reps about it. Put items which are there in your market to avoid inconveniences. Otherwise, hope to see your market expand like that in Nigeria, believe that is quite excellent. Have read so many positive reviews on there. Why not do the same with the Kenyan market? It starts with you Jumia Kenya. Give us the best, make us embrace your shop by being genuine.

I would want to try your shop again, though.

Channel Speak >      >       >>> What are your experiences shopping on Jumia Kenya? Did you love it, or any marketplace online?.

*DISCLAIMER*.

As you can see, these are my honest opinions and experiences on, with Jumia therefore, not promotional and shouldn’t be taken personally or directly as what Jumia does.  So, write reviews which are honest or you have experience on. Slandering is an offence.

 

 


stephanie

"//kenyareview.us10.list-manage.com/subscribe/post?u=fb045d1b7ce33fd6ac6446a86&id=9230d4b4c2"

37 Comments

A H · 10th January 2015 at 2:23 pm

Thanks for this good observations! It makes me hesitate in buying my stuff from Jumia if they dont improve their service.

    stephanie · 11th January 2015 at 2:36 pm

    Yes, if they want to be as authoritative as ebay, they should introduce measures on how to deal with customer’s issues. Or provide items on their warehouse, not just listing and never updating the site. Thank you for the comment too.

Joe · 15th February 2015 at 5:54 am

I have bought four items from Jumia; one camera and two laptops. All these items came after about two weeks. The fourth item (a wireless keyboard) is what really drove me away from Jumia. I ordered it around 15th of Dec 2014 and received it on 22nd of Jan 2015. Bad Joke.

They also do not keep honest reviews of a product. I reviewed a laptop on the site and pointed out some aspects of the touchpad that I thought weren’t very good. The review never made it. The only reviews on the site are those with 4+ stars and are mostly one liners like “Very good product”. Hardly useful reviews. There should be a law that compels e-com sites to put customer reviews on their sites.

    stephanie · 18th February 2015 at 7:06 pm

    Wow! Thank you Joe. This is pretty serious. I’d love to write another review for them to find out and even ask one of the CEOs to check on some of their products. These complains you’re raising I saw them on a Facebook page when I was checking reviews about Jumia. I’ve to admit I was a little disgruntled when I saw all the negativity about Jumia. I became a little scared and it happened to me, too. I know we believe, ”no smoke without fire”. There’s some fire here.

    It’s about time, we speak as customers and as a nation our minds. Do things in the way we love doing, not letting others sit on us with their oppressive ideas. It’s about time we tell Jumia to stop withdrawing comments with 2 or one star. They have to know they’re messing somewhere. They have to realise they are telling buyers one and offering two.

    And I agree with you, there has to be some rules governing online marketplaces. The problem is, submitting this responsibility to a government entity will cost even more to open or run a selling website in Kenya. It’d mean, government scrutiny and extremely highest taxes. It’d mean lots of things. My take, it’s better monopoly stops. We have over a thousand Jumia’s selling even better products. We teach Kenyans to embrace online shopping and selling or advertising. We encourage Kenyans on lots of things done online.

    Then, maybe just maybe will there be an increase and decrease on buyers and buyers being ‘duped’ respectively. Would love to hear your take on that. Otherwise, I’d love to hear of another marketplace that entices you. Have you tried on Kaymu?

    Theresa · 4th June 2015 at 6:36 am

    I agree with you, I did put a review on Jumia that shed a bit of negative light and the review never made it to the customer reviews site with the other positive ones. I have shopped with sammy dresses and they were very professonal, got their goods on time. It’s a pity a Kenyan online platform is sooo disappointing!

      stephanie · 3rd June 2016 at 6:34 pm

      This is absolutely nerve wrecking, annoying and disconcerting despite the numerous songs of, ”tumeenda digital”. I hope they upgrade how they do business, for now, they can take advantage because not many Kenyans have an online presence or love to shop online. But, no matter how they hide negative comments, as long as they are meaningful, not demeaning or belittling or insulting, but, constructive, then they are headed for the dogs. Reviews sell in e-commerce, lies will eventually be poked by small sharp needles, then, collapse. But accepting positive well intended criticism is the way forward to success in not just business but life, career etc. Jumia, accept negative reviews. A site that has only items written or rated excellent brings customers in droves but once they realise the ”secrets”, you have lost them forever. Bringing a customer is very easy, retaining them is quite … . Thank you Theresa.

Mohammed · 17th February 2015 at 7:11 am

I placed an order at Jumia on 31/01/2015 for the Infinix x507 , they clearly indicated delivery between 5-10 days, it has now been almost 20 days, they neither call or email to update me on the status of my order nor do they bother explaining why it has taken this long. Yesterday they promised to deliver the phone but no response and no call to inform me of the delay. Kenya does not have an online shopping platform, and if you think Jumia is the first then you are just a Clown!!!

    stephanie · 18th February 2015 at 6:52 pm

    Thank you for your timely response. I think your ”clowness” response is out of topic. Kindly use mature words to explain things. This is a public place with rules, would you mind respecting me and other web users? I am tempted to tell you, no wonder you aren’t getting your delivery, wouldn’t I be as closed minded as you’re?.

    If you want people to hear you, come clean with what you have in mind. Being a clown makes money for many, does it make for you my friend? Don’t be rude here, find your web page, create it and be as sarcastic as you may wish on there!.

    Otherwise, it was very nice of you passing by. And, I still believe it’s never wise to insult people’s ventures and even Jumia’s! You’d have to ask them why your delivery took long as they have mobile numbers provided there on the website. Their 5 – 10 days delivery was a recent addition. And that means, business days. When working your transaction, do ask questions, it’s the thing I learnt from them and any other place. Be curious, don’t just nod to everything because it’s there.

    As the expiry day approaches, do confirm where your order has reached. They have a tracking order there on their site lately. Don’t just discredit an item because it disheartened you day one, try it again.

    P.S: I tolerated your rudeness, because, I do know trolls are quite a headache. So, to prove to you that with my ”clownity” I know what I’m talking about.
    I do know there exists other online shops, I haven’t just reviewed them. I reviewed one I have directly dealt with.
    Next time, be respectful!

free music downloads · 24th February 2015 at 4:50 pm

I blog quite often and I seriously appreciate your content.
The article has truly peaked my interest. I will book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week.
I opted in for your Feed too.

Theresa · 4th June 2015 at 6:30 am

I placed an order with Jumia and at the time of delivery the man who called was very rude! For status he did not want to bring the item to where I was, instead he wanted me to meet him in Fig Tree Ngara right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of town. I refused that option and he hung up the phone. I had to call him back at which point he tried to negotiate a meeting point with me, when I refused to meet him outside my compound he told me he was going to go about his business for the day then deliver my phone later. This is after I had specifically told them that I would be travelling and the phone needed to be delivered either the previuos day or early morning the next day. I am so disappointed!!!

    stephanie · 3rd June 2016 at 6:18 pm

    Oh, I am so sorry Theresa, did you finally get your phone? And did you get to meet the rude delivery man who would rather go about his business than provide customer satisfaction? I hope somehow Jumia gets to see our messages, the more we unite and fight such vices of online shops ”ripping” of Kenyans and causing headaches, the more these underperforming ventures will be shunned by as many Kenyans. They fail to realise Kenyans have woken up to bad quality, poor delivery, we’re going global. In global going, what we want is quality, excellent customer service, positive criticism and embrace, not fear and disguise in doing good, yet, there’s no good. We want better, we want quality and timely delivery, then, we can build Kenya.

Maiko maina · 14th August 2015 at 7:06 am

Wee my people!

These guys are a big joke to be sincere.I ordered a tv a digital on for that case and got an analog for three repetitive deliveries.And yet they wanted me to pay and retain it.

Please avoid this Jumia thing

    stephanie · 3rd June 2016 at 6:26 pm

    What happened, did you ask for a refund for your money? Were they rude? Did they bother to offer apologies or further address your concerns?

quest bars · 28th August 2015 at 10:56 am

It is not my first time to go to see this web site, i am visiting this
web page dailly and obtain good facts from here every day.

Coconut Oil · 9th September 2015 at 5:58 am

Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace,
when i read this post i thought i could also create
comment due to this good piece of writing.

ex girlfriend · 30th March 2016 at 9:00 pm

Really informative blog post.Much thanks again. Want more.

native american porn · 31st March 2016 at 5:49 am

Enjoyed every bit of your post. Keep writing.

coco ser vice · 31st March 2016 at 8:54 am

2V8b6i Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic blog.Really thank you! Really Great.

SALIM HARUN · 28th May 2016 at 12:23 pm

HALLO,JUMIA KENYA HAS BEEN INVADED BY CON-MEN.HERE IS HOW I WAS CONNED-THEY ARE ADVERTISING PRODUCTS WITHOUT THE WRITTEN SPECIFICATIONS THAT ARE WRITTEN ON THE WEBSITE.I BOUGHT THE SAMSUNG GALAXY J2,4G WORTH 14,300.HOWEVER,THE PHONE DOES NOT HAVE 4G.I HAVE THE RECEIPT.I AM ALSO SUSPECTING THE PRODUCTS THAT ARE BEING SHIPPED TO THE POSTAL SERVICES ARE ALL WRONG.BUYERS BEWARE.SPREAD OUT THE MESSAGE.

    stephanie · 3rd June 2016 at 6:24 pm

    Hello Harun, I hope you did return this phone you didn’t want, told them how disappointed you are and got a refund? It’s very important to investigate the item you ordered for, if it’s the right one or not. If it’s not, they have a return policy on there page, that can guide you on if you want to return or retain the item. Complaining to the relevant ”authorities” is also crucial, you can write a long email stating your fears of their service or dissatisfaction see where it goes or the kind of help they will accord you. I hope you have resolved this unsettling matter, Salim?

Kenyan · 21st June 2016 at 7:43 pm

Buy in Jumia Kenya At your own risk.

Check for yourself reviews online about Jumia Kenya. Many say it takes looong for you to get an item you ordered, but whats even worse is the many cases of wrong deliveries.

However whats really disappointing is the rate of failure of many electronic devices bought from them. Some down to 3 days. Imagine buying a phone and it fails on you on the 3rd day. Then you call jumia and they dont pick your calls. Dont worry they just might call you after 7 days after your return policy has ended. You r now asking of their office? Well check their fb page and see many replies to that question! they dont have a physical office and are purely an online shop. Not even an office?
Any way these are my two scents. Oh n many of their phones and tvs are bought from local vendors and transffered to you as buyer, thats y they are refurbrished. Clearly they have no office or ware house. The one they have in msa road is not a warehouse, there has to be another name for it. If you visits its inhuman condition is when you will agree its not a warehouse. So go ahead and buy if youd like to taste the waters with them, personally not ever again,

xxx · 14th July 2016 at 1:08 am

I must tɦank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website.
I reallʏ hоpe to see thᥱ same high-grаde content from you in the fᥙture as well.
In fact, your creative writing abilities hаs inspired me to get mу own blоg now 😉

ZelmaHHowson · 12th September 2016 at 7:03 pm

After exploring several of the blog posts on your own blog,
I honestly just like your manner of writing your blog. I book marked it
to my bookmark website list and will also be checking back anytime soon. Check out
my website too and let me know your opinion.

    stephanie · 22nd September 2016 at 11:43 am

    Thank you

TaishaZPoxon · 18th September 2016 at 3:01 am

Perhaps you have considered about including a little bit more than only
your articles? I am talking about, everything you say is important and all.
However take into consideration when you added some very nice images
or video clips to present your site content more, “pop”!
Your site content is great however with pics and video clips, this website could definitely be one of several best in its niche.
Fantastic blog!

    stephanie · 22nd September 2016 at 11:41 am

    Wow Taisha, what a suggestion? I am taking that into consideration and trying to add more photos to make the website look awesome. Thank you for the suggestion and hope you keep reading more.

joseph · 7th October 2016 at 1:02 pm

do jumia sells genuine electronics?

    stephanie · 23rd April 2017 at 3:21 pm

    From what I gather, they get their wares from local merchants like for example, ramtons, hotpoint.

    I also believe it’s the merchants themselves who put these items there to be seen and bought by online shoppers. As with other products, they are usually under warranty. So, yes. A few merchants are individuals selling their handmade or homemade or imported items, though.

    Any other input in this will be valuable.

    Thank you for the comment, Joseph.

ควยชักว่าว · 15th October 2016 at 8:30 am

Ӏ like the helpful info you provide in your aгticles.
I’ll bookmark Ò¯our weblog and chеck again here frequently.
Ó€’m qÕ½ite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here!
Good lᥙck for the next!

หนังโป๊เอเชีย · 15th October 2016 at 8:57 am

I’m rеallʏ enjoying the design and layout оf youг blⲟg.
It’s a ѵery easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to
come here and visit moгe often. Did you hire out a dеveloper to create your theme?
Great work!

Samuel · 16th March 2017 at 3:39 pm

Very informative article. First, I would kindly like to point out that Jumia is more of an Amazon.com as compared to an eBay type of website, this is because eBay is characterized by auctions and many independent sellers and Amazon provides a market place platform for businesses. Sound familiar? 🙂 On a lighter note however, I think websites like Jumia and others who hope to follow suit as we usher our country into a digital age should do well to intergrate a well structured platform for online payment first and foremost, surely the country that came up with Mpesa could do better! And secondly, a good delivery system, One of the features that makes companies like Amazon so popular among users is that you’re assured of getting your product on time! Building customers confidence in the system should never be overlooked.

Joe Aako · 17th August 2017 at 8:29 pm

Hello.
Great review. But I do not agree with many of them. I see this is from 2015 and a lot has changed since then. Jumia is doing very well and I think it will soon replace traditional stores. I agree that some things need to change like, timely delivery and better customer service, but they are still doing a good job.
I know you said this is based on your personal experience but I think you should give them a try again. This time might be different

    stephanie · 25th March 2019 at 7:10 am

    This Jumia review maybe from 2015 but nothing about Jumia and its operations have changed. By the way, it’s not a profitable business yet – it’s running on a loss. And their customer service worst than ever. I’ll be updating this content asap with all the new info on Jumia based on their reviews.

    Thank you for your comment.

    I also wrote a piece addressing customer service issues in Kenya and poor customer service in Kenya.

    Once my customer experience has been diminished by a business, it’s never easy to trust them, would you give them a chance?

Janet Mukoya · 22nd August 2017 at 8:23 am

I have been a loyal customer of Jumia since inception but lately I am very disappointed in your products. In April I bought a hard drive worth 6,000/- and 3 months down the line it crashed; never to be used again. On 12th July 2017, I bought 2 non stick pans and a blender. This cost me 5,999/- .As I write this; the handles of the pans have fallen apart and the blender blew and cannot be repaired. Are you selling us sub-standard stuff. I really need to be told URGENTLY!!

    stephanie · 25th March 2019 at 7:11 am

    Hello Jane, you should have reported this to Jumia.

    Mine is a review of their poor customer service and relations.

    Hopefully, you got your issue reviewed by them?

Paul · 20th January 2018 at 11:27 pm

Excellent comparison about jumia being closer to Amazon than ebay as a platform Samuel. Stephanie Great chain and quite informative. It’s disheartening to hear the negative customer reviews about jumia as a market place and even more so that they do little if any to correct these short comings. They may have to restructure how they do things from how to qualify sellers and their products, to how to train their customer service representatives to be in tune with customers needs, as well as structuring means to do timely deliveries and communicate with customers effectively if this fails. All in all like all new industries we have to be patient in knowing and hoping they will improve their services in the years to come, and if they don’t someone will come in their place and do what they are doing better and cheaper.
As for customers buying on jumia, it’s best to research on the particular seller whose product you seek to buy and look at their reviews, their seller rating and how long they have been a seller.

    stephanie · 25th March 2019 at 7:22 am

    Thank you for your comment, Paul.

    Jumia would be a good online marketplace for Kenyans to establish their buying prowess online and other digital services including jobs.

    However, 5 years after publishing this review about Jumia, their customer service sucks and their company has not improved a tiny bit. Helping to prove to Kenyans that everything online is a scam.

    Customers complain on Facebook bitterly about how never to trust Jumia and their fake products.

    As you say, checking the vendors and their reviews might solve the problem?. Don’t forget that Jumia isn’t Amazon therefore their reviews aren’t genuine. Just star rating and not thorough comment about a product.

    The only review I see on Jumia goes like this, ”Very good product” or ”Good” or ”Not impressed” that’s not a review but an opinion which leaves online shoppers like me wondering whether those are just paid reviews or reviews by staff.

    Which I believe is the latter when you check their Facebook reviews page(people call them a scam running paid reviews).

    Now, where does that leave me and Jumia? There’s room for improvement especially on addressing customer service and experience – before that, I don’t predict its future. Maybe listing their business will encourage shoppers? It’s a wait and see game.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *